• Common Core IEP Goal Stems

    The Division of Special Education is committed to supporting students with disabilities in meeting or exceeding the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for California through rigorous and integrated curriculum, instruction, and assessments.


    Elementary: Grades K-5/6

    The early years are critical for ensuring that students gain the foundational literacy and math skills needed for future school success.


    Middle School: Grades 6-8

    The middle years are the optimal time to help students find and explore their passions, which ultimately will lead to college and/or careers.


    High School: Grades 9-12

    The transition process prepares students for adult life by focusing on the areas of post-secondary education, employment, community participation, and independent living skills.


    LAUSD Common Core State Standards Initiative

    LAUSD's Office of Curriculum, Instruction and School Support have designed a variety of CCSS curricular materials that incorporate the needs of students with disabilities.


    Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium

    The Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC) is designing and implementing California’s new assessments for the Common Core, including practice items.