• The Office of School Design Options is not accepting or approving new Pilot Schools, Expanded School Based Management Model (ESBMM) or Local Initiative School (LIS) plans for the 2020-2021 school year at this time.


    The document that governs the oversight of these Autonomous School models, the Local School Stabilization and Empowerment Initiative (LSSEI) agreement, ended June 30, 2019. The District and UTLA leadership did not renew the agreement.


    Without this agreement, this office cannot provide the required Autonomous Schools workshops nor review new applications. We apologize for any inconvenience.


    If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact this office at (213) 241-8700.

    Comments (-1)


  •   Local Initiative Schools 2011 to 2016

    135th Street ES
    42nd Street ES
    Arleta HS
    Dena ES
    Dorsey HS
    Eagle Rock HS
    Fulton College Prep Span School
    Glassell Park ES
    Haddon ES
    Harry Bridges Span School
    Hoover ES
    Lokrantz Special Education Center
    Maclay MS
    Palms ES
    Panorama City ES
    Reseda HS
    Salvin Community Learning Center

    New Local Initiative Schools for the 2016 - 2017 school year 

    24th Street ES
    Arminta ES
    Columbus MS
    Toland Way

    New Local Initiative Schools for the 2017 - 2018 school year

    Mann MS

    New Local Initiative Schools for the 2018 - 2019 school year

    Hancock Park ES
    Gerald A. Lawson Academy 

    New Local Initiative Schools for the 2019 - 2020 school year 

    Marshall HS
    Playa Vista ES