Instructional Technology Initiative
ISTE Standards Banner
  • Amazon Future Engineer + BootUp Elementary Computer Science Initiative
  • Logo Los Angeles Unified was awarded the Amazon Future Engineer + BootUp Elementary Computer Science grant for Title I elementary schools. This is a service award (no money is awarded) that provides all of the support needed to implement computer science in elementary grades districtwide.

    The grant provides everything a school will need to implement a sustainable computer science initiative, including eight 3- hour professional learning workshops focused on Scratch (3-5) or Scratch JR (K-2), eight days of model teaching and/or coaching, curricula and teacher lesson plans.

    As part of the Amazon Future Engineer + BootUp Elementary Computer Science Grant participants will have the opportunity to establish professional growth goals that pertain to instructional design around computer science. Educators will participate in a series of learning sessions to reflect upon and refine their practices in computer science. Each session will provide participants an opportunity to engage as learners in exploring instructional practices that will empower them to provide personalized learning experiences as well as share their learnings with others. Additionally, these learnings will align with and support the District computer science initiatives.

    OVERVIEW: Intent to Participate
    RECORDING: Informational Webinar
    PRESENTATION: Informational Webinar


OVERVIEW: Amazon Future Engineer+BootUp Elementary Computer Science Initiative

ATTACHMENT A: Intent to Participate

Participating Schools

  • 186th Street Elementary
  • 66th Street ES
  • 95th Street Elementary
  • Annalee Elementary
  • Belvedere Elementary
  • Bonita STEAM Academy
  • Bryson Avenue Elementary & STM Magnet
  • Chandler ES
  • Clifford Math & Technology Magnet
  • Coldwater Canyon Elementary
  • Commonwealth Avenue Elementary Gifted Arts/Tech Magnet
  • El Dorado Avenue Elementary
  • Estrella Elementary
  • Flournoy Elementary School and STEAM Magnet
  • Garvanza Elementary Technology and Leadership Magnet
  • Haddon STEAM Academy and Magnet
  • Harbor City Elementary
  • Harrison Elementary
  • Jones Primary Center
  • Lankershim Elementary
  • Maurice Sendak ACT Magnet Center
  • Maywood Elementary School
  • Miles Elementary
  • Moore MST Academy
  • Noble Ave Elementary School for Advance Studies
  • Rockdale VAPA Magnet
  • Russell
  • San Pascual STEAM Magnet
  • Shirley Avenue Elementary School
  • Sunland Elementary School
  • Utah Street Span
  • Valerio Street Elementary
  • Vanalden Avenue Elementary
  • Vine Street Elementary School
  • Virginia Road ES
  • Wilshire Park ES
  • YES Academy